Classifieds   |   Calendar   |   Login   |   Contact Us
Community Search
Board of Directors
Share |

Albany County Bar Association Officers and Board of Directors 
2019 Officers

Daniel J. Hurteau | President
Nixon Peabody LLP

Daniel J. Hurteau is a partner in the firm’s Business Litigation Department and a member of the Health Care Litigation, Alternative Dispute Resolution, and NP Trial® Teams. He currently focuses his practice on complex business litigation, including health care related practices, products and specialties. He has represented companies in the health care industry, pharmaceutical companies and health care providers, including hospitals, long term care facilities, physician practices and physicians in a variety of complex business and tort related actions. Mr. Hurteau is a graduate of Siena College and of Albany Law School.

Mr. Hurteau is admitted to practice in the State of New York and before the United States District Court of the Northern District of Texas and the Northern, Southern, Eastern, and Western Districts of New York. Mr. Hurteau is also admitted to practice in the U.S. District Court, Second Circuit. Mr. Hurteau is a charter member of the New York State Bar Association Committee on Alternative Dispute Resolution. Mr. Hurteau is Pro-Bono Liaison Partner for the Albany Office of Nixon Peabody LLP and is a Board Member of the Justice for All Campaign in Albany County through the Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York. Mr. Hurteau is also on the Advisory Board of Directors for Big Brothers-Big Sisters of the Capital Region. Mr. Hurteau is a member of the Board for the Northeastern School of Ballet and recently joined the Board for Mediation Matters.

Michael P. McDermott | President-Elect
O'Connell & Aronowitz

Michael McDermott is Shareholder at the Albany law firm of O'Connell and Aronowitz. His practice centers on representing plaintiffs in personal injury actions, criminal defense and general civil litigation. In addition to the practice of law, Mike has been an adjunct professor
 at Siena College and Southern Vermont College. He has lectured on legal issues for New York State Bar Association, the Albany County Bar Association, the Schenectady County Bar Association, the New York State Prosecutors Training Institute, Albany Law School and the National Business Institute. He is a graduate of Albany Law School and Siena College.


Elizabeth J. Grogan | Vice President

O'Connor, O'Connor, Bresee & First, P.C.

Elizabeth Grogan is a partner in the law firm of Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP. Elizabeth practices in the area of general civil defense, primarily in cases involving product liability toxic tort and medical/dental malpractice, with significant experience in labor law and professional malpractice. In addition to practicing as an attorney, Elizabeth serves as member of the Third Department Committee on Character and Fitness and is a member of her firm's WAVE committee, which seeks to advance the professional and personal well-being of the firm's women attorneys. She is a graduate of Syracuse College of Law and the University of Maine.


Mathew P. Barry | Treasurer

Harris Beach PLLC 

Mathew Barry member of Harris Beach PLLC (Albany, NY) and practices in the firm’s commercial lending and real estate groups. Mr. Barry represents business owners and financial institutions in all facets of commercial lending and real estate transactions. Mr. Barry is a graduate of Union College and Albany Law School.  He is on the Board of Directors for the American Cancer Society and the Legal Aid Society of Northeastern New York.



Hon. Ryan T, Donovan | Secretary
Harris, Conway & Donovan, PLLC 

Ryan T. Donovan is a partner at Harris, Conway & Donovan, PLLC (Albany, NY) and practices in commercial litigation and personal injury law.  He is a graduate of Oswego State University and Albany Law School.  He is a former member of the Board of Trustees for Albany Law School and  has been an Adjunct Professor at Albany Law School since 2011.  He has also been serving as Town Justice for the Town of Bethlehem since 2006.  He is the former chair of the CLE committee, mock trial coach and the current chair of the Committee on Directors and Governance.


Hon. Christina L. Ryba |  Immediate Past President
New York State Supreme Court

The Honorable Christina L. Ryba currently serves as Justice of the Supreme Court, Third Judicial District. Prior to becoming a judge, she held various positions in the court system for OCA and the New York State Supreme Court Appellate Division including Special Projects Counsel to the Deputy Chief Administrative Judge for Courts Outside New York City and Special Projects Counsel to the Presiding Justice of the Appellate Division, Third Department.

Prior to working with the judiciary, Judge Ryba was an associate at Nixon Peabody where she practiced Labor/Employment Law and Commercial Litigation. She also served as an Assistant Attorney General for the State of New York Litigation Bureau. Judge Ryba’s additional public service includes appointments first as General Counsel and then as Deputy Director for the City of Albany Community Development Agency. She originally began her career in public service with the City of Albany Corporation Counsel’s office.



Board of Directors
William Little, Jr.
W.T. Little, PLLC

Kathleen A. Barclay
O'Connor, O'Connor, Bresee & First, P.C.

President and Dean Alicia Ouellette (ex officio)
Albany Law School

Vincent E. Polsinelli
Jackson Lewis P.C.

Lorraine R. Silverman
Copps DiPaola Silverman, PLLC

Eileen Stiglmeier
The Colwell Law Group LLC

Caitlin J. Monjeau
Community Care Physicians

Benjamin S. Clark
NYS Attorney General Office

Amanda Kuryluk
Maguire & Cardona, P.C.

Benjamin W. Hill
Law Office of Benjamin W. Hill PLLC

Mishka A. Woodley 
Farrell Fritz, P.C. 


Chair of Admissions
Jon Crain
Whiteman, Osterman & Hanna LLP


New York State Bar Delegates
James E. Hacker
Kathleen A. Barclay
Daniel J. Hurteau
Elizabeth J. Grogan
Hon. Peter G. Crummey (Alt.)

To contact any Board Officer or Director, please address your correspondence to a selected member and email to or mail to 112 State Street, Suite 545, Albany, NY 12207


Membership Software  ::  Legal